Founded on May 8, 1846, Fredericksburg became home to 120 German settlers on 10,000 acres of land. Now home to over 700 historically significant structures, the history in this area is alive and well.
- Schoolmaster and inventor Jacob Brodbeck – Successfully flew his own self powered flying machine. This was almost 40 years prior to the Wright Brothers flight.
- Sunday House – Per European custom, farmers lived in town and traveled to their farms daily, each settler received a small lot for a home and 10 acres in the country for farming. Soon, these settlers adapted to the “American” custom of living on their properties in the country. The lot in town did not go unused as these farmers built small homes for the purpose of having a place to stay on the weekends, to attend church and gather with others.
- Sauer-Beckmann Living History Farm at Lyndon B. Johnson State Park and Historic Site.
- Pioneer Museum
- Gillespie Country Country Schools Trail – 16 sites dating back to the 1880’s, including Lyndon B. Johnson’s first schoolhouse.
- Vereins Kirche ( SocietyChurch) – one of the first buildings to be built in town.
- Kaffeemuehle (Coffee Mill) – octagonal building served as various congregations, a school, community hall and a fort. The actual building was destroyed but a replica was built in 1935 and has been relocated to the Marktplatz.
- National Museum of the Pacific War – Dedicated to everyone who served in WWII under Admiral Chester W. Nimitz. Admiral Nimitz was a five star admiral hailing from Fredericksburg. The museum now hosts the AdmiralNimitzMuseum, the George H.W. Bush Gallery, the Garden of Peach, the Pacific Combat Zone, the Memorial Wall and the Plaza of Presidents.
To plan a trip to Fredericksburg, located in the heart of the Texas Hill Country, call (830) 997-6523 or 1-888-997-3600 (toll-free in the U.S.) to request a free visitor information kit or go to www.VisitFredericksburgTX.com for a complete list of accommodations in Fredericksburg and Gillespie County.
Historical Information from the CVB of Fredericksburg.